top of page
  • Writer's pictureBianca Santos

The Worth Of A Photograph

Updated: May 11, 2019

A photograph could never fade, yes, certainly a memory can, but a photograph is always able to capture a moment permanently for life. That’s why I love taking pictures so much. People like to say that its annoying that I must take a picture of every event, but I am not doing it for the likes on my social media… I am doing it for me. For the sake that if one day I so happened to lose my memory, I would have all the photos I’ve ever taken in this lifetime to look at. Especially for a picture like this. Although my Grandma is no longer here, and the memory of this day is not all that clear… the picture is.



My second birthday was in sixteen days when this picture was taken. This picture is painted as a light hearted moment to someone looking in. However, to make that clear, this picture was taken the day before my grandmothers surgery… she had lung cancer at the time. That day her, my mom and I spent the whole day together. I only know these things as my mom has told me about this picture before, but to know how I was truly feeling I don’t quiet know. I can only assume being happy, as I probably did not know that she was even going into surgery as I was too young to understand the concept of that. To me this was probably just a typical day of spending time with my mom and grandma, but in reality, this could’ve been the last photo I ever took with her if something did go wrong in that surgery. Being that young though you’re so naïve, and everything is okay and you’re always happy. I like to think I was that bright light for her during that day to keep her distracted. Her character in general was very strong and she was never a fearful person, but growing up I know that she was probably so scared in the moment. She probably was thinking that maybe this could’ve been her last day with us two, we were her world…and she was ours.

Luckily the surgery was successful, and I had a whole lot of years ahead to take pictures with my grandma. All of which I cherish dearly, as they are something that is left of her. They all shine a light of happiness, just like I did for her that day.


Pictures of us two are lovely memories that help me get through the times that I miss her.



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page